Skip to content

Flip Video- Review

December 31, 2009

Hands down the best product I bought this year. The Flip video camcorder delivered past my expectations inspiring me to make use of it in several projects. I initially bought the MinoHD Flip over the summer to document my trip to Cambodia and Thailand, but having such a simple device also made it convenient to capture waiting in line at the Kogi Truck, dropping down water slides at Six Flags, or getting photographers workin’ it at shootouts. This is definitely one of the greatest investment I’ve made in my career as a photographer, as well. I agree that having a DSLR that has video capability is equally–if not more–incredible to own, but the compact size of the Flip makes it a little more practical to take with you in situations where you don’t want to risk your expensive camera.

If you’re not yet convinced why this is the best camcorder to have, then allow me to further whet your senses.

1. Simple to shoot, very easy to use
2. HD-quality video
3. Convenient USB arm that flips out of the camera
4. Pre-loaded Flip software allows you to e-mail, make movies, edit clips, & instantly upload to social networks (I use iMovie to make all my videos)
5. You can customize your Flip with your own design, so for pro photographers your own spiffy logo
6. You can take it underwater using their underwater case for a price that doesn’t drown you
7. Pocket size portability
8. You can connect it to the t.v. and show off your videos right away
9. If you’re an educator or with a charity, then you can get one at a reduced price!

and lastly,

10. Because I can’t have all the fun!! 😛

Here’s a small clip of what the Flip results in after you’ve recorded. This was captured earlier today while I was taking photos of my Flip.

The Flip

The Flip

Thanks to my sister, Angela, for being my hand model! To see more of my Flip videos visit my You Tube page.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2010 8:10 pm

    Jen. The Flip Mino HD is an awesome tool. I have the very same thing! I bought it thanks to [b]ecker’s plug last year. I use it from time to time, but I don’t have the time to post the videos. One time, I bought the Flip strap(so you can attach it to helmet), and I fashioned it to my paintball marker. It was hilarious! Well anyway, great review and thank you for sharing.

  2. January 2, 2010 8:30 pm

    Thanks, Joel 😀 I’ll have to try the flip strap one day

Leave a Reply

