Skip to content

Once in a Blue Moon

January 1, 2010

It’s 2010, ya’ll. A new year is here for us to take it or let it leave us behind wondering, “Where did my year go?” Out of all the holidays we celebrate the New Year’s is one that I feel somewhat responsible for. Last night during the eve and end of ’09 I went outside in my front yard and looked up at the sky. I saw a very luminescent full moon. My dad, also gazing with me, suggested I take a photo to see if I could capture any blue. I wasn’t expecting to see it since a blue moon isn’t actually that color, but sometimes extra-large particles scatter red light and tint the moon blue (I used to be obsessed with astronomy).

I grabbed my 70-200 lens and hand held my camera on ISO 800 shooting at f 11. When I looked down at my image I saw a blue circle behind the bright moon. How the heck did that happen? I was in disbelief. Here is the image I got straight out RAW:

Blue Moon

What do you think? I think it’s cool. Maybe I got lucky or it’s some refraction of another source of light coming elsewhere. Perhaps, my UV filter (but wait, I don’t have one).  Regardless, it’s blue and looks like a second moon. So, I zoomed in closer and saw contrasted shadows of the moon’s craters, but the blue companion was gone. Oh, well.

Blue Moon

For the new year I’ve got several goals and resolutions I’ve set before me, but the most important matter I’ll be caring for is wholeness, an unsevered relationship of well-being for myself. If God can love me, then I can love myself and extend that love to others. Let it not be once in a blue moon for you to receive that truth. It may be a new year, but the simplicity is found in each new day and fresh chances. Cheers to you.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2010 7:17 am

    Wow cool stuff!!

  2. January 8, 2010 5:26 pm

    Great shots!!

Leave a Reply

