Skip to content

iPhone Photographer- Hipstamatic Review

January 11, 2010

I’ve joked around that I use my iPhone for everything but calling and this is kind of true unless I’m talking to a client or need to tell my mom what to pick up at the store. The one thing I do find most useful–among all it’s capabilities–is the camera. I own the 3G one so it’s only 2 megapixels that I’m working with. Still, I’m not bothered by that. So long as I don’t photograph a wedding with it, right?….well, only if they ask me too 😉

There are a few cool photo apps that can be downloaded to the iPhone that I favor like the PS (photoshop) Mobile and the Polarize, both free to add on your phone, but for the new year I’ve decided to splurge on a photo app and came across Hipstamatic which advertises to bring a nostalgic feel of plastic toy cameras in it’s stylized effects. Currently, this app is only $1.99. I told you I splurged.

The app features the ability to switch lenses, film, and flash that creates different moods to your photos. There are also other lenses and types of film that you can purchase to add to your Hipstamatic collection.

I’ve played around with the 3 lenses and film that it comes with and below are my results; I’m truly an addict for the Hipstamatic. 🙂

Hipstamatic
Here I am using the app on my phone.

Hipstamatic

Hipstamatic
My mom and I went grocery shopping today so here begins our journey.

Hipstamatic
I had to wait at least 10 minutes until this area was clear of shoppers for a short few seconds.

Hipstamatic
The image on the left is the John S lens using Ina’s 1969 film.
On the right I used the Jimmy lens and the same type of film (which has this cream border).

Hipstamatic
Both were shot with the John S lens with the Blanko film.

Hipstamatic
The left was with the Kaimal Mark II lens, Kodot Verichrome film.
The right was with the same type of film, but with the John S lens.

Hipstamatic
Starting to get a hang of the different looks?

Hipstamatic
Alright, let’s leave the grocery store!

Hipstamatic
I held my phone outside of the moving car for this shot.

Hipstamatic
The blurred image on the left is from the fast movement taken with the phone’s automatic slow shutter.

Hipstamatic
I think it’s hilarious that I caught my parents getting something out of their wallet,
both at different times w/o me thinking of the coincidence.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 9:00 pm

    It looks like your a using a holga or some film camera. Dang you inspire us photographers to use the tools we have at our finger tips. Enjoyed the post.

  2. January 11, 2010 9:11 pm

    Oh, I miss my Holga days! 🙂 Thanks for the comment, Jeremiah! Happy new year to you!

Leave a Reply

