Skip to content

In The Meantime, Teach

January 15, 2010

When things slow down for me I find opportunities to teach in after-school programs. For one, it gets me away from my desk; and two, it gives me good reasons to brush up on education and learn new things. I mean this in a very practical way. Before I taught my first photography class to high school students I needed to figure out how to break down the concepts of the what’s and how-to’s of camera techniques, lighting, and composition. This all was overwhelming in the beginning, but there’s so much clarity when you put things down on paper and communicate and demonstrate something to someone else.

Of course, I’m just stating the obvious here, but what wasn’t so obvious was discovering the doors it would lead me to and to such things I, at first, didn’t know I would like: speaking on career day, incorporating custom videos into my lessons, or putting together an art show for my student’s parents and friends. It was a fantastic experience.

Here’s a video from last spring when I taught a photography class with a non-profit that had me at three different high schools, one of which was North Hollywood. This is a promo video shared with families of the program at a school event. I share this with you now, because I’ve finally come around to it and I’ve recently began teaching again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

